Friday, 3 January 2014

The List 2014...

... or "I Really Need To Get Other Stuff Done But Can't Be Bothered - The Blog Post"

In all serious I've been wanting to do a big write up on all the costuming I did last year, and for those that don't know and can't be bothered to go through my backlog I made a goal to do 12 costumes by the end of the year. So the question then is, did I succeed??? Well amazingly enough yes I did, in face I ended up with 13 new costumes ... although some weren't quite as finished as they should have been. Either way, I'd thought I'd update 'The List' and finally reveal some of the secret projects I've been working, and some quick notes on what happened to what costumes (that way if I never blog about them then some of the questions will get asked).


2013

  • Big Macintosh – Completed!
    • Notes = Needs a better shirt, better pants, otherwise pretty neat.
  • Eureka Sheriff – Completed!
    • Notes = Gun Belt never arrived and thus didn’t purchase holsters. Pants didn’t fit exactly well, will need new pair if done again.
  • Real Ghostbusters – Completed!
    • Notes = Need to finish missing parts on the thrower, create a proper hooking system for pack. {2013-04-23} completed Mk I Gun Hook, partial success, needs improvement but also need a sturdier thrower.
  • Forbush Man – Completed!
    • Notes = Formerly [SECRET PROJECT ALPHA], need to recondition the helmet and it’s starting to get some dings and is flaking paint.
      • Helmet has been reconditioned and looking a lot better for it!
  • Star Trek – Completed!
    • Notes = Completed a lifelong dream of owning my own Star Trek uniform, and wore it when I went to see Star Trek: Into Darkness. A couple of dramas with the costume, but nothing too detrimental. Hopefully will wear it again one day.
  • Cybershade – Completed
    • Notes = Formerly [SECRET PROJECT BETA], still needs to be finished cutting up all the strips of fabric but was able to troll a couple of my Whovian friends on the Saturday at Supanova who didn't know I was making the costume. Strips were all cut out just in time for the Doctor Who 50th Anniversary.
      • Brought ahead in time as a secondary costume but has proven to be an easier build to work on by myself than Goliath (which I needed help to make the muscle suit but scheduling hasn’t been great in that regard).
  • Wreck It Ralph – Completed
    • Notes = Managed to successfully shock so many of my friends throughout the Sunday with my freshly shaved face, as most of my current friends hadn't seen me without the beard and especially as I still had the beard underneath the Cybershade mask the day before.
  • Life Day Wookiee – Completed
    • Notes = Formerly [SECRET PROJECT GAMMA], kept secret to surprise my friends who are huge Star Wars fans, who were also hosting the party. Quite quickly put together but looks very effective and will be used in a future performance possibly in 2015.
  • Beast - Completed
    • Notes = Got two weeks to construct this for the Wolverine screening with PAC, shouldn't be too bad as long as I can make my mask look good and rework the abandoned Goliath muscle suit to work with my concept... time to learn to work with fur.
  • Doctor Catastrophe – Completed
    • Notes = An OC (original character) I had put together for the PAC screening of Kick Ass 2. The idea behind the event was homemade heroes/villains, and I literally took half a dozen unfinished or broken costume/prop pieces and turned it into my costume.
  • Bat Mite – Completed(ish)
    • Notes = I was going to do something else but plans fell through and I made this instead. Sadly it was rushed due to time and budget constraints, and eventually I botched the cowl so I wore my Forbush Man pot instead.
  • Volstagg – Completed(ish)
    • Notes = Believing I had an extra month on my hands, I started this one way too late, so it was an incredibly rushed job trying to get it done whilst also working on Bat Mite AND an October full of costuming commitments.
  • Doctor Who’s Ace Rule 63 – Completed
    • Notes = A relatively cheap costume, spent at most $15 on materials as I decided to recycle an old jacket instead of buying a new one. Took a long time sewing all the patches onto it, but went through a lot of Doctor Who DVDs in the process.

2014

I keep coming up with more and more ideas that I’ve so far haven’t wrote down, but these are pretty much in flux until such time when I’m actually making them.

  • Eddie (Rocky Horror) – Due January
    • Notes = Going to see a stage performance of Rocky Horror in Jan, hoping to get this somewhat together in time.
  • Doctor Octopus – Due March (Oz Comic Con Perth)
    • Notes = Had to commit to my Ghostbusters costume for the pageant a couple of months ahead of the event, however this gives me time to do it for Oz Comic-Con. Already bought the pool noodles for the tentacles, just need to make the harness and get the suit made.
  • Guardians of the Galaxy – Due Mid 2014
    • Notes = I’m thinking doing an alien Nova Corps member. Or maybe a Skrull. Or maybe both?
  • Galaxy Quest – Due June (Supanova Perth 2014)
    • Notes = Got the prop kit online, need to construct
  • Arrested Development Series 4 Fantastic Four skit
    • Notes = I've wanted to make either a Rock Monster or Human Flamer costume since I saw this!
  • Baseketball
    • Notes = Just talked myself into doing this but no real goal in mind except that I want a 'Beers' outfit and make a Baseketball at some point (maybe with the Laz-E-Boy printed on it).
  • Kung Pow – Enter The Fist
    • Notes = Maybe Supanova 2014, don't know the character yet but might be Wimp-Lo at this stage.
  • Barf (Spaceballs)
    • Been wanting to do this for a while, and it appears I’ll be shaving my beard off a lot this year so I might just finally get into this Mog’s shoes.

Cancelled/On-Hold

  • Goliath (Borderlands 2) – Postponed due to financial/health/time issues.
    • Notes = On-hold, maybe in the future.
  • Ghost Smashers – TBA
    • Notes = On-hold for now, maybe 2014.
  • Hobbit – Cancelled
    • Notes = Not going to happen.

Tuesday, 31 December 2013

On 2013...

I keep putting this off. I suppose it's because everyone seems to be doing it and I'm not entirely sure I want to do a "me too!" post, or that there is still less then a dozen collectable items still scattered around Saints Row IV that is distracting me from everything else I should be doing at this particular moment in time. I might be because despite my best intentions, writing lately just hasn't... well.. happened. I can't call it a writer's block, as you can tell I usually just bullshit my way through such a thing, and it's not a lack of inspiration as I've got at least a few things I want to write. For the first time in several months I have no real things on my to-do list, or at least those that aren't firmly on the to-do-next-year list, but I think it's because I just want to unwind for a while and have spent the majority of the last week blasting through Saints Row the Third and Saints Row IV (both have been on "must play" list waiting for the Steam Sales).

Anyway, 2013... Well it didn't entirely suck, although it had potential to do so. It didn't entirely rock, despite some of the best times I've had in forever. It had some pretty high points, especially those involving costuming, PAC, my new podcast (which I'm hoping to make grow in the new year), and I won't bog it down with the low points, most of which are incredibly personal, although my Grandad's death hit me pretty damn hard... which actually was directly responsible for making this blog.

It's weird, the more I write the more I don't want to dwell in the past year; which kinda defeats the purpose of this entry in many ways. I want to talk about all the cool stuff that happened, all the stuff that's been happening with PAC, but most of the important stuff has been covered here already. There is also a lot of stuff I wish I could talk about, but it's either depressing or still too personal. I know I'm rehashing the previous paragraph, but it's really confusing (and you should be used to this by now if you're a reader).

Let's just say, I've had some great times this year, I met some awesome people, I reconnected with old friends, and somehow lost one along the way, I've gone above and beyond my main goal for the year, and I think I've become an optimistic person all because of it.

My only hope for next year is that there is less of the Drama, that I can live without for one year.

Sunday, 15 December 2013

Secret Santa

It’s been a while since I’ve written a blog post and it’s been mostly due to being so incredibly busy these last few months. Between looking for work, working on costumes, organising events, and subsequently attending them, AND trying to record, edit, and release a weekly podcast, writing as been the furthest thing on my mind, despite having one blog post I’ve been itching to write now for over a month (and have had a draft buried in the blog somewhere waiting for me to work on). Added to the fact that just two weeks ago I unexpectedly started a new job that I thought I’d missed out on, all whilst organising Perth’s Allied Costumers members for this year’s Channel 7 Christmas Pageant, time to do such stuff has been in short supply.

Needless to say I haven’t really announced my job really is, not for fear of people visiting but because I haven’t really had time to beyond a few small posts. The job is only a Christmas casual position, as will become obvious, and I’ve only got one week left so it doesn’t really matter either way. So now that that’s been built up it’s time to tell you all what I’ve been doing... I’ve been working as a Santa Photographer, and I must say this is the first job I’ve absolutely loved doing. Now I’m not going to mention specifics, that’s mostly due to privacy but also because I know what companies are like, and even though this job is short I want to keep it and preferably come back again next year!

That being said there is no scandalous tales, no gossip about the real workings going on in a Santa grotto, none of that utter tripe that some people fluff up to try and sell books or make the papers, none of that at all... well if there is I’m certainly not involved. What I do know is that I’m working with some amazingly awesome people (and occasionally downright hilarious), elves, Santa(s) and photographers alike, and I’ve learned a lot from sheer osmosis about my side of the lens than ever before. I find as I write this I’m uncertain just how much I can talk about on a public forum such as this, as such my idea behind the blog post as changed direction (if you didn’t notice disregard this statement).

One thing I have learned to do in this job is to just have fun. Kinda simple really when you think about it, however I’m betting most people don’t have a chance to do have fun at work especially with the pressure someone in my position is under. Before I get to the fun I’d better explain a couple of things first.
  • First of all, the photographer is almost always under pressure to get a couple of good shots of the kids with Santa, and they have to get them quick... this can be a bit exhausting when there is a long ass line with kids and parents who have potentially waiting over an hour to see Santa.
  • To further complicate these matters, sometimes the kids don’t want to co-operate. This typically can be because they either are incredibly tired or incredibly shy, or in some cases incredibly shit scared of Santa. There are usually ways of bringing the kids onto our side, talking to Santa, patting Rudolph, playing around with various toys, bells, etc, but they sometimes can get worse by...
  • Overbearing Parents! I have no real problems with the kids, well the young ones at the least... the older ones can be fucking brats at times, but not that often as you would imagine. No the problems sometimes are the parents who think the best way to deal with a child who is scared shitless of Santa is to drag them across the room and force their screaming spawn onto his knee... then expect me to take a good photo. There is been a couple of times we’ve got “passable” photos this way, but mostly the only times we get good ones are when the parents are with them if they are scared, which happens more times then you’ve think. Again it’s also rare to have some parents you just want to punch in the face, but alas you just have to smile and try to do good work.
And yet despite all this (and admittedly in spite of in some cases) I genuinely have a lot of fun and have some great laughs on this job, even when I’m stuck in the dead end part of it occasionally. I’ll admit part of it is keeping a happy smile on my face to deal with the customers, but there are times when I’m trying not to burst my gut with laughter whilst with some of the families. And a lot of it has to do with keeping up with my room’s Santa and Elve. Namely if they are being fun and happy with the kids, I’ve got to do my best to match them... which thankfully is easy with a lot of people I’ve had the pleasure of working with. Sometimes when it’s quiet and there is no kids we just shoot the shit and talk about all sort of stuff, sometimes we keep ever other amused by telling jokes and stories and generally have a good time, either way it makes for a great working atmosphere which I’m hoping lends to a better experience with the families that come in.

I find I’m developing a banter with the Santas when we take the photos which helps us all out, especially as we keep coming up with new (well to the families) and, sometimes, funny things to say instead of “Cheese!” My personal favourite came from today, which was “Cheeky Monkeys!” This was especially pleasing as it got a smile and look from a grouchy kid who was trying to burrow into his Dad’s t-shirt. We also take a “magic” photo where a reindeer might “magically” appear to be under a kids hands, especially when the photographer turns the screen away and quickly “magic” them in whilst Santa is asking about their wish lists. I’ve also developed a banter with the Elves about the “reindeer running loose in the halls” when we have to delay families from potentially running into other families on the way out, nothing like reinforcing the lie magic of the situation.

Anyway I think it’s time for me to get a little R&R before a long day tomorrow, and what looks to be an incredibly busy week to come. Merry Christmas!

Wednesday, 27 November 2013

The Word With a Nerd Podcast – Episode Eight – Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles – Part One

Download here!

This episode that almost wasn't. Even though I recorded this episode about a day after the last one, my schedule has been so busy that it almost wasn't edited together for today (let alone other emergencies that got in the way).

Nothing much else to say except there were a couple of errors in both our recollections (official Word With a Nerd No Prizes to those that can find them) but nothing so egregious to discredit what we were talking about.

Wednesday, 20 November 2013

The Word With a Nerd Podcast – Videsode One – Spider-Man Jigsaw

Check it out on YouTube!

As something a little bit different, and because life is becoming increasingly busy over the last few months, instead of releasing an episode I decided to make a fun little video. Partly because it breaks the monotony, partly because I haven't edited the next episode (which has been recorded for a couple of weeks), but mostly because it was an idea that refused to shift out of my skull until such time as this was completed.

It was... interesting going back to doing a Jigsaw when it's been very nearly two decades since I last done one, and longer still since I done this particular jigsaw. It's one of those amazing things when old habits that haven't been touched sometimes come back at you like no time had passed, and that's pretty much what happened here.

With any jigsaw puzzle I would always start with the border, but with this particular one I would immediately follow it up with making Spidey first... starting with the eyes. I think I went with that path again as I knew it would be the most instantly recognisable feature for the jigsaw and as a film-maker it would have the visual appeal that would keep the viewer interested from the get go.

I was an interesting nostalgia trip, and I'm hoping it won't be another two decades before I do it again!

Wednesday, 13 November 2013

The Word With a Nerd Podcast – Episode Seven – Board Games - Part Two

Download here!

The post that almost wasn't. Been having some computer issues (mostly computer crashing on my for no apparent reason) and time issues (people taking up precious editing time) and procrastination ... which is my fault.

This episode was a chore to edit, not because the content was bad or it needed a lot of work to get done, but I just couldn't get in the mood to edit anything at all. Still feeling a little tired after October and it's starting to hit home with a lot of stuff I want to get done and just not. As such I didn't give this episode the fine toothed combing I normally would do, but I still think there is some great conversation happening in this one (as such it's over an hour, there was very little I didn't want to take out, even when I thought I would).

Anyway, it's nearing close to the upload time and I still have a few things to get done, however I have already recorded the next guest, so there is little pressure there, but I'm hopefully working on something else as a little gap filler if time gets away from me again!

Wednesday, 6 November 2013

The Word With a Nerd Podcast – Episode Six – Board Games - Part One

Download here!

So after a completely unintentional break due to severe busyness.. yes that is now a medical term... I managed to quickly setup a recording session with my first co-host Eric Spain. I was planning on talking to Eric again, just not exactly so soon, but all of the guests I have lined up have either been unavailable or way too busy to record (story of my life).

I'm hoping now that the ridiculously busy October is out of the way and I'm not making numerous costumes, going to numerous costume events, and other time crippling events with the term 'numerous' can be attached I can bank up some more episodes, and possibly even write more on this blog... especially as I've finally completed my main goal for this year and I can't wait to write about it (hint: it's something to do with costuming).

Anyway I've still got plenty to do at this time so please Share and Enjoy.